Facebook: an example of digital democracy

election-rally-on-facebook2On November 3rd I received an invite to join Facebook’s cause ‘Election Rally’.

Even though I wasn’t personally involved in voting (I’m not a US citizen), I decided to ‘donate’ my Facebook’s status to the cause.

The goal was to reach as many people as possible and convince them to vote, no matter about political persuasion. Everyone could donate his status to his candidate.

The most important thing was reminding people to vote, especially young people.

The initiative had a great success: in just under 5 days, 1,745,754 people sent out 4,919,071 status messages.

This example demonstrates how a social network can support democracy, and help people to know their rights.

I’d like to suggest you to visit the Facebook’s cause, to check the increasing number of people involved hour by hour. It’s incredible how fast it grew!

*********************

Another suggestions to all bloggers: Valeria Maltoni posted today a useful article “Why start a blog and 25 howtoblogtips to make it work”. You’ll find many advices to create a successful blog! The article is easy to understand also for beginners, and it is mainly focused on creating a business blog.

Valeria’s ‘Conversation Agent’ is one of my favourite professional blogs, and I read it regularly, as I always find ideas, suggestions, and interesting opinions.

I strongly recommend it!

Enjoy your reading.

3 thoughts on “Facebook: an example of digital democracy

  1. Pingback: US Election On Best Political Blogs » Blog Archive » Facebook: an example of digital democracy

  2. @Valeria
    Please, let me know if you’re planning any conference or meeting in Italy. I’d really like to meet you and to listen to your opinions!

Leave a Reply

