Djanet, Algeria

People in Djanet - December 2010

I’m really astonished and surprised by reading that an Italian woman has been  abducted in Algeria, near Djanet.

Details are not so clear and there is a lack of information, as the situation is difficult and the risk for hostage’s life very high

Just a year ago I was there, in Djanet because of my trip in a desert area called Admer-Tadrart.

I’d like to share with you my memories and feelings, so alive, about that place.

We can’t consider Djanet as a ‘town’, even if is the main settlement in South East of Algeria. Better to say it’s a big village, near oasis and palmerie. 350 km north from Niger, 300 km east from Libya. People origins are Tuareg.

Its economic growth is due to excursions to Tassili N’Ajjer and its famous rock paintings, and tourism is the only way they have to increase their economy and improve their lives, in terms of health, education, work.

Rock paintings

In December 2010, Djanet was really crowded because of tourism. Mainly, groups from Italy, France, Spain, and … Japan as well!

We spent there a couple of days, organizing our week in the desert, and durino our stay there, we attende a local festival. Hundreds of people singing, dancing, together with tourists. We all felt safe in that place, I was interviewed by a local Algerian TV, they asked me about safety and my feeling in the place as a tourist. I remember I said that I felt safe, happy and comfortable in their village.

Interview by a local TV

It is still difficult to me thinking about Djanet like an unsafe place. But I can’t say right now, that it isn’t dangerous to go there.

I can only say that many people always pay for the cruelty of just few crazy human beings.

Dances - Djanet

Suq - Djanet

Admer Tadrart

Leave a Reply

